I Am…

I am the white whisper of fear
I am the proud, solitary tear
I am the “different”, “faggy” and “queer”
I have.
I can.
I am.

I am the unknown; vast and grey
I am the battles of every day
I am the courage beyond what they say
I have.
I can.
I am.

I am a powerful purple mystery
I am every protest in our history
I am each shamed, locked door misery
I have.
I can.
I am.

I am the crimson Catholic cry
I am the wounded, doomed to die
I am the truth behind the lie
I have.
I can.
I am.

I am the green jealous rage
I am a player on life’s stage
I am a pride that won’t be caged
I have.
I can.
I am.

I am the blue velvet voice
I am biology- not a choice
I am the passionate that rejoice
I have.
I can.
I am.

I am the mighty mist of gold
I am the young. I am the old
I am the dignity that was sold
I have.
I can.
I am.

Though you may slander me with shame
And shackle my soul with years of blame
Extinguish my heart of every flame
I have.
I can.
I am.

As I open up the door
Enjoy a world I never knew before
Every day a little more
I have.
I can.
I am.

For every colour and every creed
For every tortured soul in need
For every mind that has been freed
WE have.
WE can.

WE ARE.

Leave a Reply

